Make your own free website on

 Home About Links Results Players Historical Articles Bibliography

Formation of the Manly Warringah District RLFC

Extract from Manly Warringah News ? November 1946
Copy kindly provided by Glen Thorpe (16 matches 1954/55)


THE public meeting held at the Luana Hall, Dee Why, on Wednesday, 20th November, for the purpose of forming the Manly-Warringah District Rugby League Football Club, was attended by a large number of Rugby League enthusiasts. The meeting was opened by Mr. W. Seymour, president of Manly and Warringah District Junior Rugby Football League, who welcomed all those present, and then handed over the meeting to Mr. J. McGrath, President of the North Sydney District R.L.F.C., who acted as chairman for the evening...

Formation of Club

On the motion of Messrs G. Hallwood and N. McNally it was decided that the Manly Warringah District Rugby League Football club be constituted. The motion was carried unaminously. Messrs, J. McGrath, G. Ball, K. Sharp, R. Bowd, Councillor McLean and C. McMurray congratulated the new club and its officials and wished it all the success, and promised all the support possible.

The inaugural meeting to be held in January. All subscriptions must be paid on or before 1st January 1947.


The meeting decided to make application to the N.S.W. Rugby Football League for permission to register the following club colours: Maroon jersey with white V, white shorts, maroon socks with white tops.

Provisional Committee

Voting was keen for election to the provisional committee and executive. Mr Jack Munro, hon. district secretary, pro tem, was elected unopposed.

The following were elected:- Provisional president: Mr. W. Seymour; Provisional hon. district secretary: Mr. J. Munro; Provisional hon. district treasurer: Mr. G. Ashton; Provisional delegates to the N.S.W.R.F.L.: Messrs, J. Munro and N. McNally; Provisional committee: Messrs. Allan Riddle, J. Kirkwood, N. McNally , M. Whitehead, G. Flynn, L. White, J. Bliss, H. Hall, J Martin, J. Morton, D. NichoIson, D. Stewart, R. Black, J. McColm, J. Quirk, L. Whittle, E. Taaffe.

Committee Meeting

A meeting of the Provisional Committee will be held in the Dispensary Hall, Eustace Street, Manly, on Thursday next, 28th November, at 8pm. All members of the Committee are requested to attend the meeting.